Tuesday, January 3, 2023

The Twelve Days of Christmas — The Tenth Day

The Twelve Days of Christmas
The Tenth Day

The 12 days of Christmas are the 12 days that separate Christmas Day on December 25 and ends on January 5, with the next day being Epiphany, which is celebrated January 6. Depending on the church, January 6 may mark Christ’s baptism (in the Catholic tradition), or it may mark the day that the wise men (or the Magi) visited Jesus with their gifts.

The Day of Epiphany is when the church celebrates the revelation of Christ as the light of the world and recalls the journey of the Magi. Magi means wise men.

From 1558 until 1829 Roman Catholics in England were not allowed to practice their faith openly. During that era someone wrote ‘The Twelve Days of Christmas‘ as a kind of secret catechism that could be sung in public without risk of persecution. The song has two levels of interpretation: the surface meaning plus a hidden meaning known only to members of the church. Each element in the carol is a code word for a religious reality.

Some beliefs believe that the day after Christmas started the 12 Days of Christmas. You also hear some people think its the 12 days that lead up to Christmas. But reality, it starts on December 25, that is the first day.

The Tenth Day of Christmas

The carol says On The Tenth Day of Christmas, My True Love Gave To Me...

Ten Lords A-Leaping

According to catechism hidden meaning it means …

The Ten Commandments
  1. “You shall have no other gods before me”
  2.  “You shall not make for yourself an image.”
  3. “You shall not misuse the name of the Lord your God.”
  4.  “Remember the Sabbath day by keeping it holy.”
  5.  “Honor your father and your mother.”
  6.   “You shall not murder.”
  7.  “You shall not commit adultery.”
  8.  “You shall not steal.”
  9.  “You shall not give false testimony.”
  10.  “You shall not covet.”

The Ten Commandments, also known as the Decalogue, are a set of commandments which the Bible describes as having been given to the Israelites by God at biblical Mount Sinai. The Ten Commandments are listed twice in the Hebrew Bible, first at Exodus 20:1–17, and then at Deuteronomy 5:4–21. Both versions state that God inscribed them on two stone tablets, which he gave to Moses. According to New Testament writers, the Ten Commandments are clearly attributed to Moses (Mark 7:10, see also John 7:19).

No comments:

Post a Comment